11 Things I Wish I Knew When I Started My Business

Glitter was literally shooting out of my eye sockets as I quit my PR job to “be my own boss.” Then reality struck.

Stephanie St.Claire
9 min readOct 11, 2013
Working. Or maybe ordering wine off the internet.

“A lot of people like to fool you and say that you’re not smart if you never went to college, but common sense rules over everything. That’s what I learned from selling crack.” — Snoop Dogg

My name is Stephanie St.Claire, and I’m an unfunded entrepreneur. I’ve been in business for eight years, after engaging in my own personal and tenuous renaissance (uh…divorce) and rediscovering my Divine Core Purpose. In other words, I grew a pair of ladyballs, launched a business, and tried to make enough money to keep a roof over my head.

But there was a lot to learn, some of which wasn’t covered in Who Moved My Cheese?

Glitter was literally shooting out of my eye sockets as I quit my PR firm job and dove headfirst into entrepreneurship. Full of optimism, living in New York City and surrounded by a tribe of friends who were also launching businesses, art, and gigs, I felt it was the perfect time to make a bold move and be my own boss. I was now Officially Living My Dream and Working…

--

--

Stephanie St.Claire

Writer. Reader. Lover of the Oxford comma. Writing for Medium since 2013. Find me at stephaniestclaire.com